Friday, January 18, 2013

Defiance by C.J. Redwine-Review


DEFIANCE by C.J. REDWINE

Book Rating: @@@@@
Movie Rating: PG-13 some material may not be suitable for young kids
Swearing: None-if there was any if was there wasn't a lot of them and they were small
Inappropriate Scenes: None
# of Pages: 403 (hardcover)
Genre: Dystopian
Publisher: Balzer + Bray

Back Blurb:
Within the walls of Baalboden, beneath the shadow of the city's brutal leader, Rachel Adams has a secret. While other girls sew dresses and obey their male Protectors, Rachel knows how to survive in the wilderness and deftly wield a sword. When her father, Jared, fails to return from a courier mission and is
declared dead, the Commander assigns Rachel a new Protector, her father's apprentice, Logan--the same boy Rachel declared her love for two years ago, and the same one who handed her heart right back to her. Left with nothing but a fierce belief in her father's survival, Rachel decides to escape and find him herself. But
treason against the Commander carries a heavy price, and what awaits her in the Wasteland could destroy her.
At nineteen, Logan McEntire is many things. Orphan. Outcast. Inventor. As apprentice to the city's top courier, Logan is focused on learning his trade so he can escape the tyranny of Baalboden. But his plan never included being responsible for his mentor's impulsive daughter. Logan is determined to protect her, but
when his escape plan goes wrong and Rachel pays the price, he realizes he has more at stake than disappointing Jared.
As Rachel and Logan battle their way through the Wasteland, stalked by a monster that can't be killed and an army of assassins out for blood, they discover romance, heartbreak, and a truth that will incite a war decades in the making.

My Review:

Contents of this book are UHMAZING! A tyrannical leader, forbidden love, and a pinch of Defiance made this book soooo good! AH! I'm literally Dying to read the sequel Deception. I luved all the characters. Rachel Adams did bug me a few times but for the most part she was a good, well-written character and Logan was such a sweetheart. :)
And the cover. The cover is just astounding. Apparently I'm blind because I didn't see the fortress at the very bottom of the cover. (duh)
And the leader (argh, I forgot his name) really irritated me. I really wanted to stab him with a knife myself. Well, first give him a good whipping and then stab him. Gosh, he reminded so much of our current government rolled into one huge, evil, tyrannical character. *shudders*
I totally recommend this book to readers who loved The Hunger Games and Enclave. Loved this book. Great job, Ms. RedWine! Fan 4ever.

Check out the trailer:


Favorite Series